Withdrawal after the middle of the semester may be granted by the Medical Withdrawal Committee only in exceptional circumstances. Exceptional circumstances are generally unforeseen occurrences that significantly limit a student’s ability to withdraw prior to mid-term. A withdrawal after the middle of the term of instruction is an extraordinary remedy and is intended to be applied narrowly.

All requests for consideration of Withdrawal for Medical Reasons must be initiated in the Office of the Associate Dean (or designee) of the student’s college or the Neighborhood Student Success Collaborative (NSSC), who will submit the appropriate request form.

This procedure governs requests for an exception to the standard University withdrawal policy based on exceptional circumstances that are medical in nature. See the list below for additional information on Medical Withdrawal and Readiness to Return:

University Medical Withdrawal and Readiness to Return Procedure
 

Medical Withdrawal Committee Meeting Dates 

Date of Committee Meeting

Date All Materials Due for Placement on Agenda*

 January 22, 2020

 January 8, 2020

 February 26, 2020

 February 12, 2020

 March 25, 2020

 March 11, 2020

 April 29, 2020

 April 15, 2020

 May 27, 2020

 May 13, 2020

 June 24, 2020

 June 10, 2020

 August 19, 2020

 August 5, 2020

 

*The signed Patient Authorization for Disclosure of Health Information form and medical treatment records must be received by the University Physician at least two weeks prior to a scheduled committee meeting in order to appear on the agenda.

Low and no cost options for health care may be explored on campus and in the community.


To initiate a request, contact your college representative:

Agriculture & Natural Resources
Dorcia Chaison
Justin S. Morrill Hall of Agriculture -- Room 121
517-355-0234
chaison@msu.edu

Arts & Letters
Quinn Moreno
200 Linton Hall
517-355-0366
qmoreno@msu.edu

Communications Arts & Sciences
Kari Schueller-Lopez
Comm Arts & Sciences -- Room 189
517-355-1794
schuell8@msu.edu

Education
Kristy Dumont
Erickson Hall -- Room 134
517-353-9684
kdumont@msu.edu

Eli Broad College of Business
Shannon Brecheisen
Eppley Center -- Room 402A
517-353-7272
brechei4@msu.edu

Engineering
Amanda Idema 
Wilson Hall - Room C101 
(517) 355-5128 
agidema@msu.edu 

James Madison College
Jeff Judge
South Case Hall -- Room 369
517-353-6754
judgej@msu.edu

Lyman Briggs College
Karen Mills
East Holmes Hall -- Room 35
517-353-6480
tkaczyk@msu.edu

Music
Talitha Wimberly
206 Music Practice Building
517-432-2616
talithat@msu.edu

Natural Science
Heidi Purdy
Natural Science Building -- Room 106
517-355-4470
purdyh@msu.edu

Nursing
Michael Zaborowski 
Bott Building — Room C130 
517-353-4827 
zaborow3@msu.edu 

Residential College in the Arts and Humanities
Niki Rudolph
Snyder Hall -- Room C-210
517-884-1243
niki@msu.edu

Social Science
Mike Connelly
201 Berkey Hall
517-355-6676 
connel67@msu.edu

Neighborhood Student Success Collaborative
Erica Fiasky 
C125 -- Holden Hall 
South Engagement Center
517-884-6680    
fiaskye@msu.edu

Veterinary Medicine
Helen Mayer
G155 -- Veterinary Medical Center
517-355-7624
mayerh@cvm.msu.edu